Email Horror Stories

Original

I used to love sending files by email. My friends and I would send each other digital photographs of holidays we had been on and songs we had written using software. It was a great way of sending stuff because it was so quick. I knew there was a risk of getting a computer virus from the Internet, but did not think it mattered with things like emails. My mate Pete sent me his digital photos of a gig we went to and I opened them as usual. They were great, but I noticed the green light on my computer flashing really quickly. When I next checked, every single file I had in the ‘My Documents’ area of my computer had been deleted. I lost all my coursework and had real problems at school because I could not hand my work in on time.

Translated

Me encanta el envío de archivos mediante el correo electrónico. Mis amigos y yo nos enviamos fotografías digitales de los sitios en los que habíamos estado de vacaciones y las canciones que hemos gravado mediante un programa. Fue la mejor manera de enviar cosas debido a la rapidez. Sabía que existía un riesgo de contraer un virus informático a través de Internet, pero no pensaba que importase con una cosa como los correos electrónicos. Mi compañero Pete me envió las fotos digitales de una actuación en la que hemos estado, las abrí como de costumbre. Eran geniales. Pero mi di cuenta de que la luz verde de mi ordenador parpadeaba muy rápido. Al comprobar Mis Documentos, todos los archivos se habían borrado. Perdí todo el curso y tuve grandes problemas en la escuela por no poder entregar el trabajo a tiempo.

Original

You know how you hear about emails from dodgy people? You always read the story and think the person has been daft for opening such an obviously trick email. I never opened emails from people I did not know or trust. Well, it is daft, but I got an email from someone claiming to be my bank. You have to trust your bank, don’t you? I opened the email and it asked me to open an attachment which included my details. When I opened the attachment, the details were not very complete and I got suspicious, so I rang my bank to check. They said the email was not from them, so I closed the email and the attachment. 

I got a phone call from my bank that afternoon. Someone had got onto my online bank account and taken a huge amount of money out.I kept the password on my computer, so I guess the attachment must have found the details somehow and passed them on. I was not happy, I can tell you, but I suppose it was my own fault. I will be a lot more careful in the future about which emails and attachments I open.

Translated

¿Sabe cómo reconocer correos electrónicos de personas poco fiables? Lea la historia, creo que la persona tiene que ser tonta para abrir este tipo de correos electrónico que obviamente contienen truco. Nunca abría ni leía correos de gente desconocida. Claro, eso es de tontos, pero el correo parecía provenir de mi banco. Hay que confiar en el banco, ¿no? Abrí el correo y se me pidió que abriese un archivo adjunto que incluya mis datos. Cuando abrí el archivo adjunto, vi que los detalles sobre mis datos no eran del todo correctos y empecé a sospechar, así que llamé a mi banco para asegurarme. Me dijeron que el correo electrónico no era de ellos, cerré el correo y los datos adjuntos.

Más tarde recibí una llamada telefónica de mi banco. Alguien había conseguido sacar una enorme cantidad de dinero de mi cuenta. Se quedó con la contraseña de mi equipo, así que supongo que de alguna manera accedió a mis datos y se los pasó. Estaba decepcionado, pero puedo decir que de alguna forma era mi culpa. Voy a ser mucho más cuidadoso en el futuro en lo referente a los correos electrónicos y archivos que abro.

Responder

